Beyond Section 508 Digital Accessibility Requirements: An Overview of Web Accessibility Requirements from WCAG 2.1 and 2.2

Section 508 Best Practices Webinar Series
Tuesday, July 30, 2024
1:00 PM – 2:30 PM, Eastern Time

Sponsored by Great Lakes ADA Center and ADA National Network (ADANN)
For help, contact Great Lakes ADA Center: 1-877-232-1990 (Voice/TTY) or email

Register for the Zoom webinar

WCAG 2.0 Level AA became the web accessibility requirement under Section 508 in March of 2017. WCAG 2.1 became a finalized standard in June of 2018 and WCAG 2.2 became a finalized standard in in October 2023. The Europe Union has been using WCAG 2.1 for five years. In April 2023, DOJ published a final rule setting WCAG 2.1 as the standard under ADA for state and local governments (Title II). If your organization is using only WCAG 2.0 Level AA to audit your web properties, what accessibility features are you missing? Bruce and Rachael will explore and answer this question by reviewing the Success Criteria added in WCAG 2.1 and 2.2 as well as AAA requirements from WCAG 2.0.

Sign Language and Real Time Captioning will be available.

Questions for the presenter can be submitted during the registration process.

Continuing Education Credit available: Certificate of Attendance; ACTCP: 1.5 Credits


Bruce Bailey, IT Specialist, U.S. Access Board

Rachael Bradley Montgomery, Accessibility Architect, Library of Congress